Senate debates

Monday, 4 December 2017


Northern and Regional Queensland

4:52 pm

Photo of James McGrathJames McGrath (Queensland, Liberal National Party, Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister) Share this | Hansard source

The Prime Minister and the Liberal-National coalition government are fully committed to northern and regional Queensland. Four of the five LNP senators are based outside of Brisbane—in Townsville, Rockhampton, Toowoomba and Nambour—and live in the regions. In stark contrast, all four Labor senators are based within an hour's drive of the Brisbane CBD. The Queensland Labor Party replaced their only regionally based senator with fly-in fly-out senators who have no connection to or understanding of regional Queensland. Under Labor, the Office of Northern Australia was located in Canberra and the biggest announced policy for the north involved absorbing the Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility into the Department of Finance. Unlike Labor, this government will continue to deliver for those living in rural, regional and remote areas.


No comments