House debates

Monday, 10 February 2020

Parliamentary Office Holders

Deputy Speaker

3:44 pm

Photo of Mr Tony BurkeMr Tony Burke (Watson, Australian Labor Party, Shadow Minister for the Arts) Share this | Hansard source

I nominate Mr Llew O'Brien, the member for Wide Bay. Up until today it has been the case that the government has had 76 members of the coalition on the floor. As of today, that's 75. While this position would normally go to a member of the same party as forms the cabinet, given the change in numbers today, I think it's appropriate that this position go to somebody who has taken a higher position of independence.

Mr Llew O'Brien is the member for Wide Bay and has been serving on the Standing Committee on Petitions. He's familiar with the procedures of the House and has taken a level of independence from the executive, which I think is appropriate for the role. I would draw your attention to standing order 14(a) in my nomination.


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.