Senate debates

Tuesday, 2 August 2022


Australian Road Safety Awards

1:54 pm

Photo of Carol BrownCarol Brown (Tasmania, Australian Labor Party, Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport) Share this | | Hansard source

Yesterday, I had the honour to present some remarkable Australian organisations and councils with Australian road safety awards. The awards, organised by the formidable Australian Road Safety Foundation, are in their 11th year. I would like to take some time to congratulate the winners again.

The Community Programs Award was awarded to Road Sense Australia's Traffic Offenders Intervention Program. The program is a behavioural therapy based approach to road safety education. The Schools Program Award was awarded to the South Burnett Regional Council for their Safe School Projects program. The program is an initiative to improve regional road safety outcomes around schools. The Indigenous Programs Award was awarded to the PCYC Queensland, Braking the Cycle, Changing Gears program. The learner driver mentor program is working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to help gain their licence. The Innovation Award was awarded to Youthsafe for their Learner Driver Mentor Online Training program. The training is for volunteer learner driver mentors. The Technology Award was awarded to eDriving & Innovation Group for their Mentor by eDriving program. The program helps organisations across the world. The Local Government Programs Award and the Founders Award was awarded to the City of Gold Coast for their Gold Coast Road Safety Plan 2021-2026. The plan is to reduce crashes, save lives and prevent serious trauma. The State Government Programs Award went to the Logan City Council's Tyre Deflation Device, Logan trial program. The Recognition Award went to the Maribyrnong City Council for their Holistic approach to road safety program and to the Royal Perth Hospital for their P.A.R.T.Y Program.