Senate debates

Wednesday, 24 July 2019


State of Origin

3:38 pm

Photo of Anne UrquhartAnne Urquhart (Tasmania, Australian Labor Party) Share this | | Hansard source

At the request of Senators Keneally, Ayres, McAllister, O'Neill, Sheldon, Bragg, Davey, Faruqi, Fierravanti-Wells, Hughes, Payne, Sinodinos and Seselja, I move:

That the Senate—

(a) notes the contribution that rugby league makes to the health and enjoyment of Australians; and

(b) congratulates:

  (i) the New South Wales (NSW) Blues for winning the 2019 State of Origin series,

  (ii) NSW coach, Mr Brad Fittler, for being the second Blues coach to win back-to-back series,

  (iii) NSW captain, Mr Boyd Cordner, for leading the Blues to back-to-back series victories for the first time since 2005,

  (iv) NSW fullback, Mr James Tedesco, for winning the Wally Lewis Medal for Player of Origin series,

  (v) NSW halfback, Mr Mitchell Pearce and winger, Mr Blake Ferguson, for setting up the passage of play for Mr Tedesco's match winning try, and

  (vi) all Blues' players, coaches and support staff.

Question agreed to.