Senate debates

Thursday, 18 October 2018


Australian Women in Music Awards

12:23 pm

Photo of Anne UrquhartAnne Urquhart (Tasmania, Australian Labor Party) Share this | | Hansard source

At the request of Senator Moore, I move:

That the Senate:

(a) notes:

  (i) the inaugural Australian Women in Music Awards (AWMA), acknowledging the significant contributions from across the Australian music industry,

  (ii) that these awards celebrate remarkable women across all areas of music making, in technical and production areas, touring, management, publishing , cross-cultural development, music education, music photography, humanitarian work and performance,

  (iii) that the awards also acknowledge two exceptional women, as posthumous patrons of the awards into the future, Ms Chrissy Amphlett and Auntie Ruby Hunter, whose legacies are strong and will inspire into the future,

  (iv) the first AWMA Honour Roll inductee is Ms Helen Reddy, whose iconic anthem 'I Am Woman' has been cherished and sung proudly by women across the world since 1972,

  (v) that three wonderful female artists were presented with Industry Lifetime Achievement Awards, Ms Patricia "Little Pattie" Amphlett, Ms Renee Geyer and Ms Margaret Roadnight, with over 160 years performing and entertaining between them in Australia, and around the world,

  (vi) the sponsorship and support from the Queensland state government towards making the first AWMA event happen, and

  (vii) the commitment, resilience and determination of the AMWA Founding Director and Executive Producer, Ms Vicki Gordon, and her dedicated team, who ensured that the awards be established and that women's contributions in the Australian music industry will no longer be sidelined; and

(b) congratulates all the nominees and the winners.

Question agreed to.