Senate debates

Thursday, 22 June 2017


Western Australia: Queen's Birthday Honours

12:38 pm

Photo of Dean SmithDean Smith (WA, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

I, and also on behalf of Senator Reynolds, move:

That the Senate—

(a) congratulates the 39 worthy Western Australians who were recipients of the 2017 Queen's Birthday Honours for their outstanding achievement and service; and

(b) particularly notes the following recipients:

  (i) Professor Svend Peter Klinken, AC—for eminent service to medical research and biochemistry through seminal contributions to understanding the genetics of major diseases, and to the people of Western Australia through promoting the importance of science and innovation,

  (ii) Mr Malcolm Charles Wauchope, AO—for distinguished service to public administration in Western Australia through leadership and advisory roles, to improved governance, public sector management and policy reform, and to the community,

  (iii) Ms Elizabeth Jessie Carr, AM—for significant service to the community through voluntary contributions to the health, aged care, education and social services sectors,

  (iv) Mrs Janice Ethel Pavlinovich, OAM—for service to people with a disability,

  (v) Mr Geoffrey Alexander Hay, PSM—for outstanding public service in Western Australia, particularly in the areas of executive governance and community safety, and

  (vi) Australian Police Medal recipients: Sergeant George Ross Adam, Senior Constable Anthony John Cools, Detective Inspector Mark Wayne Fyfe, Sergeant Jeffrey Bevan Taylor, and Superintendent Kathryn Laura Taylor.

Question agreed to.