Senate debates

Tuesday, 13 June 2017


Cooper, Professor David Albert, AO

3:54 pm

Photo of Dean SmithDean Smith (WA, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

I, and also on behalf of Senator Wong, move:

That the Senate—

(a) congratulates Professor David Cooper on being awarded the James Cook Medal in recognition of his outstanding contribution to both science and human welfare;

(b) notes that the James Cook Medal is awarded periodically by the Royal Society of New South Wales for outstanding contributions to science and human welfare in and for the southern hemisphere;

(c) acknowledges the significant contribution Professor Cooper has made over many years in the research and treatment of HIV and AIDS, including in the areas of antiretroviral therapy, HIV pathogenesis and complications of HIV treatment;

(d) notes the important role that Professor Cooper continues to play in the fight against HIV and AIDS in the developing world, in particular, his work in co-founding HIV-NAT, a clinical research and trials collaboration based at the Thai Red Cross AIDS Research Centre in Bangkok; and

(e) notes that Professor Cooper joins other respected recipients of the James Cook Medal, including Sir Frank M Burnet, Sir Ian Clunies Ross, Sir Marcus Oliphant, Sir Gustav Nossal and Professor Brien Holden.

Question agreed to.