House debates

Tuesday, 27 February 2024

Statements by Members

Para Hills Cricket Club

1:33 pm

Photo of Tony ZappiaTony Zappia (Makin, Australian Labor Party) Share this | | Hansard source

In January the Para Hills Cricket Club celebrated its 60th anniversary with a gala dinner and a night of reunion, reflection, recognition and reminiscing. Established in 1964 when Para Hills was a new developing community, the club initially played in the Hard Wicket Para Districts competition. In 1971-72 the club joined the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association, with Captain Bob Jones leading the A grade to an A8 premiership in that first year. By 2023 the club had scored 19 senior premierships and 14 junior premierships, four of those in a row from 2019 to 2023.

The success of the club can largely be attributed to the loyal group of committee members, volunteers and local players. This has resulted in 51 people receiving life memberships for their dedication to the club. The club continues to grow and has now introduced a junior girls pathway and an inclusive league team which were also 2022-23 premiers. In 2023 the Para Hills Cricket Club was awarded the South Australian Cricket Association community club of the year. Congratulations to President Tyson Roling and all the present and past club members, players and supporters on a wonderful first 60 years. My best wishes to the club for its future growth plans.