House debates

Thursday, 17 February 2022

Statements by Members

Mayo Electorate: Australia Day Awards

1:42 pm

Photo of Rebekha SharkieRebekha Sharkie (Mayo, Centre Alliance) Share this | | Hansard source

I'd like to congratulate all the 2022 recipients of Order of Australia Medals from around our nation and note my gratitude for all they have done for our community. In particular, I would like to mention the six recipients from Mayo who have been recognised for their long and valued service: Valda Finn for service to the community of Goolwa—she is an active contributor to the Lions Club; Mr Philip Goode for services to the community in a range of roles, including being on the Victor Harbor private hospital board since 1998 and being president since 2014; Marija Perejma, for service to the Latvian committee of South Australia; Adrian Pobke, for service to tennis and to the community; and the late Mr David Stacey, for service to veterans and to the community of Strathalbyn—Mr Stacey was a member of the South Australian branch of the 9th Battalion Royal Australian Regiment Association, the Australian infantry, the Strathalbyn RSL, the Strathalbyn Boy Scout club association, so many dairy groups and the Uniting Church, and he is greatly missed by our community; and Dr John Wamsley, for service to conservation and the environment. He is a passionate environmentalist and a recipient of the Prime Minister's Environmentalist of the Year award in 2003. We are so fortunate in our community to have so many leaders, and I thank each and every of you on behalf of our community.