House debates

Tuesday, 30 November 2021

Constituency Statements

Dobell Electorate: Dobell Awards

4:12 pm

Photo of Emma McBrideEmma McBride (Dobell, Australian Labor Party, Shadow Assistant Minister for Mental Health) Share this | | Hansard source

Just like last year 2021 has been incredibly tough on school students in my community on the Central Coast of New South Wales. They faced an extended lockdowns in the middle of the school year because of COVID-19 which interrupted their studies and face-to-face learning. Many of them had to cope with learning from home again, not being able to see their friends, missing out on weekend sport and other activities, and not being able to celebrate milestone occasions like graduations. This has taken its toll but, just like last year, young coasties were up to the challenge. They encouraged each other and pushed through the tough times together. After everything they've been through, it's important to recognise their resilience and achievements.

This year's Dobell Awards again recognise those students who have gone above and beyond throughout the school year—students like Shari Martin from Holgate Public School. Shari is receiving the Dobell Award this year for her commitment and leadership in school parliament, her positive behaviour and always demonstrating school values. Tamzen Madd from Wadalba Community School is being recognised with a Dobell Award for being an outstanding student leader and a great contributor to her school community. Bailey Hodges, also from Wadalba Community School, is receiving the Dobell Award for coaching and officiating community sport. He has also assisted with feeder school carnivals and trials for the past four years with great reviews. Then there's Aari Harris from Blue Haven Public School. She's been recognised with a Dobell Award for her contribution to the school environment and assisting with maintaining the school vegetable gardens throughout the entire year. Ashalina Jessop from Gorokan Public School is a caring and cooperative student who's being recognised with a Dobell Award for her school community service and helping out fellow students and teachers. Sienna Keenan from Wamberal Public School has made significant contributions to the school this year academically, socially and culturally. Siena is being recognised with a Dobell Award for demonstrating strong leadership skills and being an exceptional role model to other students. Sibulele Ives from Tacoma Public School is also being recognised with a Dobell Award for her contributions to the school and the wider community.

Ryan Griffey from Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College is receiving a Dobell Award for excellence in iCreate. Amelia Ormsby from MacKillop Catholic College Warnervale is being recognised for her work in the youth ministry and important fundraising initiatives like Mini Vinnies and annual sleep-outs. Evie Rooke from Brooke Avenue Public School is receiving a Dobell Award for demonstrating outstanding effort in lifting the school spirit of her fellow students during this year's lockdown, and Wade Campbell and Xavier Straker from Hopetown School have both been recognised with Dobell awards for being a positive influence in their school community. These are all incredible achievements, and I congratulate you all.

Now, as the school year draws to a close, I'd like to thank all the teachers, principals, parents and carers who have worked so hard to support our students over the past 12 months. You kept them motivated when times were tough, and you made sure they stayed on track with their learning. Our students couldn't do it without your support. On behalf of all Coasties, thank you for your efforts, and congratulations again to the recipients of this year's Dobell awards.