House debates

Monday, 21 June 2021

Statements by Members

Muogamarra Rural Fire Brigade: 70th Anniversary

4:22 pm

Photo of Julian LeeserJulian Leeser (Berowra, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

On the weekend I attended the Muogamarra Rural Fire Brigade's 70th anniversary dinner. I want to acknowledge Allison Garoza, a member who lives in North Sydney but spoke of her passion for the brigade; Sacha Price, who made a fantastic cake in the shape of a driptorch to mark the occasion; and Phil, who lives in the only house in the entire brigade region.

In 1934, John Tipper leased 240 hectares to protect flora, fauna and Indigenous sites and to prevent the loss of Hawkesbury sandstone. In 1969 the neighbouring Sir Edward Hallstrom former reserve and John Tipper's reserve were amalgamated to become the Muogamarra National Park. The Muogamarra Fire Brigade serves that national park. Founded by John Tipper in 1951 and amalgamated with Hallstrom's brigade in 1976, the brigade has been in its present premises since 1991.

During the 2020 fire season, they served all over the state, travelling over 14,000 kilometres and contributing over 4½ thousand hours on the fireground. During the fires the brigade became well known when Darren Irwin started to do his 'Daily Darren' Facebook posts explaining the fire situation using very badly drawn stick figures. The brigade gained a very big Facebook following. Muogamarra now has 53 members, and their senior members have over 100 years of experience, including Jack Barnett, who himself has served for 60 years. They continually attract new members. I want to acknowledge President Anthea Roche; Captain Gordon Morgan, whose service was acknowledge by appearing on a postage stamp; and Deputy Captain James Leech for their leadership of the brigade. Happy 70th, Muogamarra. Here's to 70 more.