House debates

Thursday, 18 March 2021

Constituency Statements

2020 Holt Community Spirit and Leadership Awards

10:12 am

Photo of Anthony ByrneAnthony Byrne (Holt, Australian Labor Party) Share this | | Hansard source

On Monday 14 December I conducted the 2020 Holt Community Spirit Leadership Awards in what was a virtual presentation ceremony via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions. Last year marked the 19th Holt Community Spirit and Leadership Awards. Thirty-four students from 33 local schools were recognised at this fairly unique awards ceremony. The students that received the award included Caplen Dexter from Barton Primary School, Eliz Szasz from Botanic Ridge Primary School, Lilly Hopp from Casey Grammar School, Scarlett Mills from Casey Fields Primary School, Desi Kohobange from Clyde Primary School, Cailin Farrington from Coral Park Primary School, Nastaran Mirzaie from Courtney Gardens Primary School, Shujaat Haidri from Cranbourne Carlisle Primary School, Frederick Kiellerup from Cranbourne East Primary School, Fatemeh Habibi from Cranbourne Park Primary College, Josh Bradford from Cranbourne Secondary College, Jamie Bryant from Cranbourne South Primary School, Brianna Boehl from Cranbourne West Primary School, Ineya Sudhakar from Hampton Park Primary School, Eddie Vusic from Hampton Park Secondary College, Harrison De Koning from Hillsmeade Primary School, Katiana Michael from Kilberry Valley Primary School, Lily Hughes from Lynbrook Primary School, Harrison Hand from Lyndhurst Primary School, Zoe Baltruschaitis from Lyndhurst Secondary College, Charlotte Pataki from Marnebek School Cranbourne, Charlotte Nicholls from Narre Warren South P-12 College, Alyssa Hansen from Pearcedale Primary School, Tearo Johassen from Rangebank Primary School, Jerry Cheap from River Gum Primary School, Daelan De Zilwa from St Francis de Sales Primary School, Tapuitea Li-Rina Passi from St Kevin's Primary School, Corey Coupar from St Peter's College Clyde North Campus, Emily Andrew from St Peter's College Cranbourne Campus, Siobhan O'Connor from Strathaird Primary School, Hershey Montemayor from Tulliallan Primary School, Blake Hewegama from Waverley Christian College, Bryn Howell from Waverley Christian College and Anishka Nanayakkara from Wilandra Rise Primary School. Those are a lot of names I read into the Hansard, but they're important because they are the names of young people who significantly contributed to improve community life in one of the most difficult years they will experience in their lives. I had great pride in presenting these awards to these outstanding young people, and I know their parents and community are proud of every name that I read into the parliamentary Hansard today.