House debates

Thursday, 18 February 2021

Constituency Statements

Berowra Electorate: Education

10:21 am

Photo of Julian LeeserJulian Leeser (Berowra, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

For students, parents and teachers, 2020 presented new challenges: online learning, being separated from classmates or the uncertainty of disruptions at home. Despite the difficult year in 2020, students in the Berowra electorate achieved some outstanding results. I want to acknowledge in particular two students in my electorate who came first in the state in their respective subjects. Congratulations to Lachlan Voss from Pacific Hills Christian School for coming first in the state in engineering studies, and to Andrew Malcolm from Cherrybrook Technology High School for coming first in the state in Mathematics Standard 2.

Each year I have the privilege of presenting awards to students in the electorate for their academic achievements, citizenship, leadership and outstanding efforts. In 2020 I presented awards to students of all ages to recognise their success throughout the year. Congratulations to these recipients of citizenship and service awards, which recognise ongoing dedication to serving peers in the broader school community: Evie Herczeg from Annangrove Public School; Bianka Liang at Arden Anglican School; Kieran Heap at Asquith Boys High School; Jacinta Kong at Beecroft Public School;    Hugh Bingham at Pacific Hills Christian School; Jessica Passe de Silva at Pennant Hills Public School; Nathan Dsouza at St Agatha's Catholic Primary School; Jake Williams at St Bernard's Catholic Primary School; Lilly Sakkal at St Madeleine's Kenthurst; Teresa Cullen at Tangara School for Girls; Matthew McPherson at Berowra Christian School; Charli Beard at Galston Public School; Daniel Gallagher at Mount Kuring-gai Public School; Talia Yates at Glenhaven Public School; and Gretel Lazenby at Hornsby North Public School.

Recipients of leadership awards for outstanding leadership included: Emelyn Sinani and Isaac Henry at Cherrybrook Public School; Aiden Holfter at Clarke Road School; and Alvina Hasty and Madeleine Sylvester at Mount St Benedicts College. Students who received awards for excellent academic achievement included: Yu—Liz—Zhi at John Purchase Public School; Billie Hunter at Normanhurst Public School; Ling Chi Ambrose Hon at Northholm Grammar School; Elliot Abeyaratne and Noah Hickey at Oakhill College; and Yang Yang Jiang at Cheltenham Girls High School.

Other awards I presented included:    Kyella Van Epen at Arcadia Public School for striving for personal best; Krystal McGhee at Brooklyn Public School for perseverance; Nicholas Martin at Cowan Public School for excellence in technology; Madi Corr at Galston High School for encouragement and excellence in character; Jessika Hodge at Hillside Public School for encouragement; Charlotte Cheal at Hornsby Heights Public School for commitment to improvement;    Cooper Walter at Kenthurst Public School for being the most improved student; Alina Graham at Maroota Public School for embodying school values; Faith McNaught at Mount Colah Public School for being a quiet achiever; Abigail Lam at Murray Farm Public School for achievement in Japanese as a bilingual speaker; Zakari Edwick at Wisemans Ferry Public School for encouragement; Thomas Doan at Normanhurst Boys High School for excellence in music;    Sophie Watts at Normanhurst West Public School for recognition of improvement;    Georgia Ryman at Thornleigh West Public School for her performance as an all-rounder; Asher Burroughs at West Pennant Hills Public School for a principal's award; and Emma Edgar at Wideview Public School for being the most improved student.

On behalf of everyone in the Berowra electorate, I wish to extend my sincere appreciation and admiration to every student, parent and teacher for their fortitude and hard work throughout 2020. Congratulations and good luck for the year ahead.