House debates

Wednesday, 17 February 2021

Statements by Members

Leichhardt Electorate: Douglas Shire Council Australia Day Awards

1:46 pm

Photo of Warren EntschWarren Entsch (Leichhardt, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

I rise this afternoon to acknowledge those in my community who were recently recognised at the Douglas Shire Council Australia Day awards. It's always a special day where we acknowledge the work of those who strive to make our community a better place for everybody. This year the award for Douglas Shire Council Citizen of the Year went to a very worthy recipient, Maria Atkinson. Ms Atkinson is one of the founders of breast cancer support group Pink in the Tropics, which was formed in 2008 by four local women, all diagnosed with breast cancer, who banded together to support one another. Over the years, Maria has supported many families in the community and has become a vital part of the healing process for women with breast cancer.

Other recipients this year include the Young Citizen of the Year, Angela Brischetto; the Volunteer of the Year, Craig Mitchell; and Noel Weare, who received the Civic Recognition Award. Alyssa Jackson and Caitlin O'Neal received the Environmental Achievement Award. The Arts and Culture Award was presented to Rose Watts. Couper Smith received the Junior Sports Award and the Senior Sports Award was presented to Jack Murday.

Finally, I'd like to take the opportunity to congratulate all finalists across the eight categories for their contribution to the Douglas Shire. I'd also like to give a big shout-out to the Douglas Shire mayor, Michael Kerr, and his team, who put on an outstanding event. I thank them very much for the opportunity to participate.