House debates

Thursday, 4 February 2021

Constituency Statements

Page Electorate: Australia Day Awards

10:40 am

Photo of Kevin HoganKevin Hogan (Page, National Party, Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister) Share this | | Hansard source

I'd like to acknowledge this year's winners of Australia Day awards in Lismore. The Citizen of the Year award went to Dr Ian Cappe for his significant contribution to health services in our community. The Aboriginal Citizen of the Year was awarded to Ros Sten. Ros is currently the Aboriginal community liaison officer with the Richmond Police District. She's a wonderful person with a wonderful heart. The individual award for services in the community went to Fred Hoskins for his contributions to his Wyrallah community, in particular the school, church and local hall. Fred is an absolute gentleman and it's a pleasure to know him. The group award for services in the community went to the Lord's Taverners Northern New South Wales branch, who do a great job. The arts and culture award went to John Devoy for an amazing 40 years of contribution to Lismore's annual eisteddfod.

The last one is an emotional one. It's the Lismore sports team of the year award. It went to the Lismore Rugby Club under-18s team. Towards the end of the 2020 season the team tragically lost two mates, Eddie Allen and Jaylan Stewart. They were lost in separate accidents. Eddie was a current player and Jaylan had previously played for the team. I knew both these boys and their families. It was a tough time for the whole community. The rugby boys played the grand final for Eddie, and they won. A few weeks later, post Jaylan's passing, the league team played for both Eddie and Jaylan, who were team mates. It was a very emotional award for the team to win, for the boys, their families and community. I congratulate all winners.

I'd like to acknowledge this year's winners of Australia Day awards in the Clarence Valley. The Citizen of the Year went to Hayley Talbot. Among many things that she does in our community, Hayley provides a free volunteer and safe space in Yamba where young women are encouraged to call in and enjoy a safe and relaxed place. She's a great advocate and an inspiration for many in our community. The Young Citizen of the Year was awarded to Kalani Ives. Kalani is 15, and she is a volunteer lifeguard. She's training hard to compete in an Ironwoman competition. She has a long list of achievements last year, which include state and country championships.

Scott Campbell received a Local Hero award for his extraordinary work during the recent bushfires. He went above and beyond helping community members, which almost cost him his life. The community achievement group award went to the Nymboida recovery team. This remarkable group formed within days of the Nymboida fires, which destroyed over 90 houses. They created a hub which provided emergency accommodation, water, food and garbage disposal services. They were an inspiration to many. Congratulations to all those deserved winners.

I'd like to acknowledge this year's winners of the Australia Day awards in Richmond Valley. It was held in Coraki, on the river there. It was beautiful to be there that day with my wife, Karen. The Citizen of the Year went to Paul Bengtson for his impressive record of service to the community, with a swimming club, the Men's Shed, Legacy and the St Mary's parents and friends. The volunteer award went to Stuart Holm. Stuart is a great advocate for Coraki. The Young Sportsperson of the Year went to Lachlan Coe, who has excelled and gone to national level within his age group.