House debates

Tuesday, 2 February 2021

Statements by Members

Wentworth Electorate: Australia Day Honours

1:43 pm

Photo of Dave SharmaDave Sharma (Wentworth, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

I rise to single out the exceptional individuals within the Wentworth community who were recognised with an Australia Day honour or award. First, I want to pay tribute and make special mention of a predecessor of mine here, the Hon. Malcolm Turnbull, who was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia for his eminent service to the people of Australia not only as a Prime Minister and cabinet minister but in a number of other roles. I want also to congratulate Emeritus Professor Christopher Fell on his appointment as an Officer of the Order of Australia for his distinguished service to science and engineering. I want to congratulate the following outstanding individuals appointed as members of the Order of Australia: Ms Georgina Byron, for her significant service to the community and to social change initiatives; the late Maureen Kerridge, for service to the television industry and the arts; Dr Milton Osborne, for service to history as an author; Dr Tom Playfair, for service to ophthalmology; Mr Kerry Roxburgh, for significant service to the financial sector; Ms Elizabeth Swan, for her service to library and information services; and Mr Peter Wise, for his service to the Jewish community. I extend further congratulations to the following people in Wentworth awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia: the late Denise Bannon, Mr Steven Ostrow, Mrs Lea Portrate and Mr Gregory Sanderson. I congratulate Mrs Anita Hawtin and Ms Natasha Luschwitz, who were awarded a Public Service Medal. Last, but certainly not least, I congratulate Lieutenant Colonel Patrick Vincent O'Neill for being awarded a Conspicuous Service Cross for his role as commander of the Australian Contingent in MFO Sinai.