House debates

Thursday, 3 September 2020

Constituency Statements

Calare Electorate: Queen's Birthday Honours

11:52 am

Photo of Andrew GeeAndrew Gee (Calare, National Party, Minister for Decentralisation and Regional Education) Share this | | Hansard source

Today I rise to pay tribute to those wonderful Australians who live in Calare who were recognised in the Queen's Birthday honours list. We're very proud of them. Well done to the following recipients for receiving the prestigious Medal of the Order of Australia.

Vicki Wilson OAM from South Bathurst was recognised for her services to the community of Bathurst. Vicki moved to Bathurst 35 years ago and quickly became a prominent figure in the local community. She has been an executive committee member of the Bathurst Agricultural, Horticultural and Pastoral Association since 2016 and was made a life member in 2018. She has been the owner of Town and Country Rural Supplies since 1990, has been involved with the Rockley Rodeo, was the Bathurst Regional Council Citizen of the Year in 2018 and is a life member of the Scots school. But the honour she's most proud of is being the coordinator of the Bathurst Show's showgirl program. Well done, Vicki. Thank you for all your wonderful work.

Marie Billington OAM from Llanarth was recognised for service to early childhood education and therapy. Marie came to the central west in 1975 and took up a job at Mitchell College. Her work there led to the development of the early childhood intervention program in 1979. All of her work and energy has gone to helping young children overcome their learning difficulties.

Jennifer Coleman OAM from Orange was recognised for her service to community mental health. This work has been critical, especially as Calare, like many communities, has been devastated by drought, fires and COVID-19.

Dr Ben Gelin OAM from Bathurst was recognised for his service to music and to the community of Bathurst. He moved to Bathurst from Tasmania in 1984, where he served as an associate professor of law at Charles Sturt University for 10 years and ran a successful law firm for many years.

Janet Page OAM from Napoleon Reef was recognised for services to the community and to education. Janet was a lecturer in social education at Charles Sturt University from 2002 to 2004, an adjunct lecturer from 2005 to 2006 and a mathematics lecturer from 2006 to 2012.

Elizabeth Zachulski OAM from Llanarth was recognised for her services to aged care and to nursing. She's a familiar face at St Catherine's Aged Care and has spent the past 12 years as the facility's residential manager.

I also offer huge congratulations to Senior Assistant Superintendent Andrew Child ACM for receiving the Australian Corrections Medal. Andrew's extensive career in Corrective Services NSW began in 1986 and he's been recognised for his volunteer work with the Rural Fire Service during the devastating bushfire season. I'd also like to congratulate Group Captain Christopher Sharp AFSM of Chifley Zone, Lithgow Team, Area Western, for receiving the Australian Fire Service Medal award. Chris has been recognised for his extensive commitment and dedication to communities in fighting fires. I also mention Professor Lesley Forster AM, Charles Sturt University's inaugural Dean of Rural Medicine, for her significant service to tertiary education, rural public health and medical administration. I say to all of you: congratulations on all of your achievements. This House recognises and appreciates your hard work, commitment and dedication to our community.