House debates

Thursday, 21 February 2019


Dunkley Electorate: Schools

4:45 pm

Photo of Chris CrewtherChris Crewther (Dunkley, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

Each year I award the Dunkley Shield to a student chosen by each participating school in my electorate who has been found to be capable, compassionate and committed in all that they do—in the school and amongst their peers, family, teachers and the wider community. It is the highest award that I give as the federal member of parliament for Dunkley. In late 2018 and early 2019 I awarded students at 42 Dunkley schools the Dunkley Shield for displaying these exceptional personal qualities. I'd like to congratulate those students from each suburb and village in my electorate.

I'd like to congratulate the following Dunkley Shield award winners in Frankston: William Griffiths from Frankston Primary School, Aiden Lennie from Frankston East Primary School, Andy Dzemidzic from Frankston Heights Primary School, Callum Bassett from Ballam Park Primary School; Angelina Amato from St Francis Xavier Primary School; Garrett Comey from St John's Primary School; Riley Malacarne from John Paul College; Kaitylyn Dastey from Kingsley Park Primary School; and Brodie Amphlett-Cargill from Naranga School.

I would like to congratulate those in Frankston South who received the Dunkley Shield award: Aiden Hawkins from Derinya Primary School, Michaela Groggin from Frankston High School, Lily Craigie from St Augustine's Catholic Primary School, and Ethan Duff from Mount Erin College. In Frankston North, I'd like to congratulate Jasmine Low from Mahogany Rise Primary School, Kadenyce Wesley from Aldercourt Primary School, and others in that areas who received the Dunkley Shield award.

In Karingal, I'd like to congratulate Taliah Black from Karingal Heights Primary School, and Sai Hodgkinson-Aughterson from Karingal Primary School.

In Langwarrin, I'd like to congratulate Katelyn Fellows from Langwarrin Park Primary School, Callan Kilby from Langwarrin Primary School, Sarah Garnier from McClelland College, Dannii Jennings from Elisabeth Murdoch College, and Laura Kemp from St Jude's Catholic Parish Primary School, Langwarrin. In Langwarrin South, I'd like to congratulate the following Dunkley Shield award winners: Zali Schwarz from Bayside Christian College, and Charlotte Swayn from Woodleigh School.

In Mount Eliza, I'd like to congratulate Vivashh Maheswaran from Mount Eliza North Primary School, Abbie McKinna and Jake Ketelaar from Mt Eliza Primary School, Gracie Fielden from Kunyung Primary School, Sarah Standfield from Mount Eliza Secondary College, Sophia Phillips from Peninsula Grammar, Amelia Hirst from Toorak College, and Lucas Parish from St Thomas More's Primary School.

I'm getting towards the end, Deputy Speaker Hogan! I'd like to congratulate the following Dunkley Shield award winners in Mornington: Anna Douglas-O'Loughlin from Mornington Park Primary School, and Archer Hornsby from Mornington Secondary College.

In Seaford, I'd like to congratulate Sarah Maguire from Seaford North Primary School, Alesia Iliagouev from Seaford Park Primary School, Paige Harmor from Seaford Primary School, Mya Sheppard from Belvedere Park Primary School, Montana Warke from Nepean School, and Chloe Windhuss from St Anne's Primary School Seaford.

Last but not least, in Carrum Downs I'd like to congratulate Klaire Santos from Carrum Downs Secondary College; Larissa Shashkoff from Flinders Christian Community College, Carrum Downs Campus; and Mia Pitcher from Rowellyn Park Primary School.

I congratulate all of these deserving students who are committed to improving themselves inside and outside of the classroom, and clearly they are students who reflect their school's values. As you can see, there were quite a number of award ceremonies that I attended late last year, some five or six in the one evening, But it's always great to go out to the local schools in Dunkley, and it's been a pleasure to attend the various ceremonies, awards, assemblies and graduations, to join the celebration of the success of our wonderfully talented students and to witness how many future leaders we have in our local area. Congratulations once again to all Dunkley Shield award winners over the last year. Thank you.

Photo of Kevin HoganKevin Hogan (Page, National Party) Share this | | Hansard source

A great effort there, Member for Dunkley.