House debates

Tuesday, 27 November 2018

Statements by Members

Mayo Electorate: Community Service Awards

1:42 pm

Photo of Rebekha SharkieRebekha Sharkie (Mayo, Centre Alliance) Share this | | Hansard source

As we approach the end of the school year, I have spent the last month presenting the Mayo community service awards. The award is conferred to a senior student who has demonstrated a keen interest in social justice and shown great community leadership potential. This is about hearts and minds coming together. Students who have been awarded so far include Cyril Saji from Rostrevor College, Laura Wuttke from Heathfield High School, Tobias Turner from Tatachilla Lutheran College, Milla Pinney-Scales from Mount Barker High School, Ella Green from Birdwood High School and Ciel Schmarr from Mount Barker Waldorf School. While I cannot yet disclose the winners, other schools participating include Tyndale Christian School, Eastern Fleurieu R to 12, Cornerstone College, Willunga High School, St Francis de Sales College, Victor Harbor High School, Hills Christian Community Secondary School, Investigator College, Yankalilla Area School, Kangaroo Island Community school and Encounter Lutheran School.

My congratulations go out to all of our young community leaders in Mayo, and we indeed have many, many leaders. I'd also like to congratulate all of the students who are graduating from year 12 this year. I know it is an incredibly difficult year for you but it is a year of great growth and hope and I wish you all the best for your future endeavours.