House debates

Thursday, 18 October 2018

Constituency Statements

Page Electorate: Sporting Achievements

10:03 am

Photo of Kevin HoganKevin Hogan (Page, National Party) Share this | | Hansard source

Grafton is a centre of national excellence in producing our nation's hockey stars. Our nation's future hockey stars are still being produced with a strong representation and fantastic results across all levels of the New South Wales schools hockey championships by a lot of Grafton schools. The Westlawn Public School girls under-12s were the joint winners in the PSSA championship. I congratulate Mia Hayne, Zahli Shannon, Sophie Hinterholzl, Eliza Berrick, Grace Milligan, Shani Firth, Heidi McClymont, Mia Grieve, Alice Hughes, Shanae Crispin, Lily Plunkett-Phelps, Izzy Miller, Layla Kingsley and Lila Heyman. The team was coached by Lauren Hadley and managed by Jason Pereira.

The Westlawn Public School boys under-12s finished as runners-up. I congratulate: Charlie Nilon, Harry Oxenbridge, Axel Hargans, Kristofa Duroux, Jaxon Rediger, Cooper Pereira, Kade Simpson, Xaviar Elward, Reece Winters, Hayden Biele, Jayden Langdon, Riley Metcalf, Ramie Simpson, Max Oxenbridge and coach Brendan Alford.

Grafton High School's boys open team were the winners of the combined high school championships. So congratulations to Toby Power, Jake Lambeth, Tyler Gaddes, Kyle Mcilveen, Riley Power, Tyler McGarvie, Zac Gleeson, Jason Durrington, Jackson Nilon, Joseph Lynch, Benjamin Crispin, Harry Watts, Jessie McGarvie, Harry Hughes and the coach, Scott Smith. But it keeps going, because in the McAuley College open boys, they won the state championships for the fifth time in 12 years. So, again, congratulations to Sam Bloomer, Aaron Asby, Abe Herbert, Eli Fahey, Luke Solomon, Nathan Eddy, Joseph Maunder, Jesse Day, Bodhi Burchell, Elliot Speed, Hamish Speed, Rhys Cropper, Noah Burchell and Abe Dougherty.

The McAuley College open girls also did exceptionally well, but went down in the semifinal to the eventual winner of the competition. They were represented by Sally Atkin, Annabel Bindon, Grace Clarke, Ella Gilbert, Josie Green, Ruby Hackett, Jossy Hargans, Laura Harley, Gabby Harley, Georgia Kroehnert, Ellee Munro, Ameli Kroehnert, Isabelle Brennan and Macy Woods. Also, congratulations to Harrison Smith, who coached both of the McAuley teams.

The Grafton High girls hockey team also competed in the championships and did exceptionally well—Chloe Winters, Ashleigh Ensbey, Sumira Lawson, Amber Sinclair, Mackenna Ensbey, Jemma Whelan, Sharon Thompson, Victoria Clark, Shelby Foulstone, Kasharn Winters, Olivia McLaren, Shakaya Cavanagh, Georgia Watts and Emma Firth. They were coached by Alana Keats. Again, it was a magnificent effort by all the Grafton schools in such a high-performing competition. That's why they produce and we produce such hockey stars in our country.