House debates

Wednesday, 2 December 2015

Statements by Members

Indi Electorate: Community Radio

1:49 pm

Photo of Cathy McGowanCathy McGowan (Indi, Independent) Share this | | Hansard source

Community radio is an important part of the media landscape in Indi and we are blessed with seven community stations covering much of the electorate. Today I would like to acknowledge Yvonne and Bill Sutton, who have been stalwarts of Alpine Radio; Scott Landells at Indigo FM; Peter Weeks at UGFM; OAKFM, which is renowned for its footy coverage by David Johnston and Des Lonergan; Radio Mansfield, which is led by president John Coffey and secretary Marg Seeber; and president Trevor Jones and vice-president Sue Maw at Upper Murray Radio.

The volunteers who run these stations enrich our lives with their sense of humour, local knowledge and unique perspectives on politics and community life. These volunteers make the community programs unique and listeners have a strong connection to their radio stations. Today I would particularly like to acknowledge Upper Goulburn FM, which broadcasts to Lake Eildon, Alexandra, Marysville, Flowerdale and Hazeldene. On Saturday it will be my privilege to join them in Yea to celebrate their 21st birthday and open the new station in town. I am sure it will receive a rousing reception. I thank the Commonwealth government for the $10,000 to fund the studio; this will give Yea listeners an even closer connection to the opportunity. So I say: go local, go community and go radio.