House debates

Wednesday, 2 December 2015

Constituency Statements

Shortland Electorate: Landcare

10:06 am

Photo of Jill HallJill Hall (Shortland, Australian Labor Party) Share this | | Hansard source

I would like to say a big thankyou to everyone who is involved in Landcare. They do a fantastic job and their work is truly appreciated. I, like many members in this House, I am sure, have visited many Landcare sites within my electorate and I have always been overwhelmed by the dedication and commitment of those working on Landcare projects throughout the Shortland electorate and Lake Macquarie.

Last Friday night, I attended the Lake Macquarie Environmental Excellence in Landcare Awards, which was also a Christmas party and a nice, friendly get-together. It was really good to catch up with friends and committed Landcare workers and to learn of their achievements over the last 12 months. I would like to mention the winners of the awards. In doing so, I acknowledge that some of the winners were from the Charlton electorate, but a large number, if not the majority, came from the Shortland electorate. The Newcomer Group Awards went to Arkana, Phil Hughes; Greenway Toronto, Joan Steele; Boughton Point, Margaret and Bob Conners; and Fraser Parade, Ben Muller. The Longstanding Groups were Ivy Street, Christine and David Eastham; Straker Park, Peter Suna; Dobell Drive Reserve, Clare Shiels; and Friends of Belmont Wetland Park, Greg Wright. Greg has put in an enormous effort in the Belmont area over a large number of years and it is great to see him recognised. The Community Education Awards went to Carmel Brown at Catherine Hill Bay Dunecare—she has done a wonderful job there and, with her education background, she was in a really strong position to work in that capacity; and Peter Dalton of Fern Creek Gully Landcare. He has transformed an area. It is unbelievable what he has managed to do at Fern Creek Gully. Further winners were Laurene Mulcahy for Climate Ready Dora Creek Landcare; and Richard McFayden at Kenibea Landcare, which is in Kahibah.

Landcare Achievers Award went to Marion Lugg, Sunshine Silverwater; Suzanne Pritchard, Coal Point; Karen Ayliffe, Rankin Park; and, once again, Greg Wright, Friends of the Belmont Wetlands Park. The Local Legends Awards went to Garth Chapman, Wangi Ridge Preservation Board; the wonderful Nigel McDonnell from Blacksmiths Dunecare; Helen Rogers, Friends of the Belmont Wetlands Park; and Win Warner, Green Point Foreshore. The 10-Year Service Awards went to Garry Stewart, Lakeside Drive; Graham Healy, Lakeside Drive; John Adams, Lakeside Drive; and Maryanne Murray from St Mary's Gateshead. The Soaring with the Eagles Award went to Don Roach.