House debates

Thursday, 22 October 2015

Constituency Statements

Nicholson Fine Foods, Indoor Cricket, Country Women's Association

10:16 am

Photo of Kevin HoganKevin Hogan (Page, National Party) Share this | | Hansard source

Madam Deputy Speaker, as a member yourself from Central Queensland, I know you envy the Northern Rivers of New South Wales as a producer of great quality produce—like just about everything we do. I would like to congratulate Peter Nicholson from Nicholson Fine Foods. Peter is based in Yamba and has just won five awards at the recent Sydney Royal Fine Food Show. The company's Euro-style spiced beetroot finishing vinegar won the gold medal and then went on to win the savoury food champion award as well as being named the overall Australian champion after earlier picking up an award from the Royal Hobart Fine Food Awards—quite a stunning result. But the company was not finished at the Sydney Royal, where they also picked up a gold medal for their savoury pickled cherries and bronze for their spiced raspberry finishing vinegar. Well done, Peter. I have sampled many of their products, and they are a great company.

Clarence Valley teenagers Carly Leeson and Amy Riddell played important roles to help the Australian under-18 girls indoor cricket side to victory in the recent Junior World Series. Australia defeated New Zealand 132 to 115 in the tournament final played in Brisbane. Carly was the captain of the side. When Australia batted, Amy entered the fray in the second batting pair. Amy and her partner put Australia in a strong position, scoring 76 runs from their eight overs. By the time Carly walked out to bat in the last pair, Australia needed just two runs to draw level. Well done girls.

CWA's Far North Coast Group conference is meeting today and tomorrow—my wife is speaking with them today—with representatives attending from 18 of the 19 branches located across the far North Coast: Alstonville, Ballina, Bangalow, Bonalbo, Brunswick, Casino, Coraki, Evans Head, Kyogle, Lennox Head, Lismore, Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Old Bonalbo, Tabulam, Urbenville and Woodenbong. Group executives are: President Yvonne Scarebelotti, Secretary Jennifer Taylor, Treasurer Anne Kotz, Group President Ruth Ryan, Group Vice-Presidents Pam Stone, Janette Kennedy, Kaye Martin, Anne Lane and Jane Clifford, International Officer Janet Twohill, Agricultural/Environment Officer Jacquie Strudwick, Handicrafts Officer Cate Field, Cultural Officer Beth Wiley, Cookery Officer Sue Constable, Publicity Officer Andrea Danvers and the Group Patrons Anne Bailey and Beryl Woolacott.

The CWA was formed in 1922 when country women were fighting isolation and a lack of access to facilities. The CWA today lobby political parties, raise money for charity, support victims of domestic violence and lobby on environmental matters. (Time expired)