House debates

Thursday, 28 August 2014

Statements by Members

Ryan Electorate: Education

1:59 pm

Photo of Jane PrenticeJane Prentice (Ryan, Liberal Party) Share this | | Hansard source

Earlier this week I received a letter from Minister Pyne, informing me of the excellent academic achievements of 18 students in my electorate of Ryan.

Each year the Australian Student Prize has been awarded to only 500 exceptional students across Australia in recognition of their academic achievements. Each prize winner receives a certificate and $1,000 in prize money from the Australian government. High-achieving year 12 students are nominated by state certification and assessment authorities.

Yesterday, I signed congratulation letters to each of the students, and I would like to take this opportunity to place their names on the Hansard record: Theopoula Angelos, Mark Baxendale, Zoe Cameron, Benjamin Foster, Annabelle Ganko, Andrew Haselgrove, William Kowalski, Matthew Lake, Andrew McKinlay, Sonja Panjkov, Sally Rafter, Christina Read, William Rumble, Timothy Sapsford, Rudi Scarpa, Ellen Visscher, Edward Watson, Mia Williams. Congratulations to all of you.