House debates

Wednesday, 12 February 2020

Statements by Members

Grey Electorate: Australia Day Awards

1:41 pm

Photo of Rowan RamseyRowan Ramsey (Grey, Liberal Party) Share this | Hansard source

I'd like to pay tribute to those in the electorate of Grey who were recognised for service to community through the Australia Day Awards. Glenise Coulthard AM from Port Augusta is an Aboriginal woman who has worked all her life in the health sector in Port Augusta, delivering for her people. Diana Laube OAM from Port Lincoln has worked long and hard in the area of conservation through the NRM board. Dr Tony Lian-Lloyd OAM from Quorn is one of those doctors—and I just came from a luncheon with the rural doctors—that we're finding so difficult to replace in the country. He is someone who has given a lifetime of service to a single community. Roger McCauley OAM from Moonta has given a lifetime of service to the Uniting Church in South Australia and in his own community. Garry Wellington OAM from Tarlee has worked tirelessly with veterans and their families to bring about better results. In relation to the meritorious service awards, Ken Campbell of Mannanarie received the Australian Fire Service Medal; David Jaensch from Whyalla received the Ambulance Service Medal; Max Coulson from Port Lincoln received the Emergency Services Medal; and Susan Dighton from Port Pirie, who has given 25 years of service, received the Australian Corrections Medal.

I thank all of these people for what they do in their local communities. It is fitting, right and proper that they've been recognised for their significant service.


No comments