House debates

Monday, 8 February 2016

Statements by Members

Grey Electorate: Australia Day Honours

4:10 pm

Photo of Rowan RamseyRowan Ramsey (Grey, Liberal Party) Share this | Hansard source

We have just celebrated Australia Day, and its significance to the nation continues to evolve and grow. This year, apart from the many towns and communities across Grey that recognised their local champions with citizen of the year awards, there was a strong recognition of significant contribution through the Australia Day honours list.

Awarded an AM for service to the mid-north-east region of the state, supporting primary medical emergency services in the Olary area was Jennifer Treloar. Community champions recognised with OAMs for their work were John Dinham from Port Lincoln, a long-term police officer, servant of the Freemasons and charity worker; Dean Dolling, resident of Port Broughton and former mayor of Barunga West council; John Holds from Whyalla, recognised for his service to pharmacy, Rotary and others, and often my local pharmacist, I must say; John Sandland from Peterborough, a recently retired councillor; Garry Smith from Tumby Bay for monitoring the marine radio frequency for many years; Peter Solomon from Port Augusta, a long-term councillor and community volunteer; and Maureen Wright from Burra, with a wide range of voluntary services in the community, including cartography. Kathryn van Schaik from Maitland was awarded the Public Service Medal for her work in early childhood services. 'Bluey' Devine from Crystal Brook was awarded the Australian Fire Service Medal. Bluey was very prominent in the battle to contain the Bangor fires of two years ago. Trevlyn Smith from Streaky Bay was awarded the Emergency Services Medal.

It is a privilege for me as their local member to have come to know most of these recipients personally, which is a reflection of the fact that they are so prominent in their communities. Well done to them!


No comments